REVIEW: CHRISTINA LAUREN – TWICE IN A BLUE MOON

REVIEW: CHRISTINA LAUREN – TWICE IN A BLUE MOONTwice in a Blue Moon by Christina Lauren
Also by this author: My Favorite Half-Night Stand, The Unhoneymooners
Published by Gallery Books on October 22, 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Tropes: Second Chance
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley, Gallery Books
Buy on AmazonBuy on Audible
Narrator: Erin Mallon
Length: 8 hrs and 29 mins
Cliffhanger: No

Goodreads
three-stars

Sam Brandis was Tate Jones’s first: Her first love. Her first everything. Including her first heartbreak.

During a whirlwind two-week vacation abroad, Sam and Tate fell for each other in only the way that first loves do: sharing all of their hopes, dreams, and deepest secrets along the way. Sam was the first, and only, person that Tate—the long-lost daughter of one of the world’s biggest film stars—ever revealed her identity to. So when it became clear her trust was misplaced, her world shattered for good.

Fourteen years later, Tate, now an up-and-coming actress, only thinks about her first love every once in a blue moon. When she steps onto the set of her first big break, he’s the last person she expects to see. Yet here Sam is, the same charming, confident man she knew, but even more alluring than she remembered. Forced to confront the man who betrayed her, Tate must ask herself if it’s possible to do the wrong thing for the right reason… and whether “once in a lifetime” can come around twice.

With Christina Lauren’s signature “beautifully written and remarkably compelling” (Sarah J. Maas, New York Times bestselling author) prose and perfect for fans of Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner, Twice in a Blue Moon is an unforgettable and moving novel of young love and second chances.

TWICE IN A BLUE MOON

by Chistina Lauren

TWICE IN A BLUE MOON held a lot of promise and while I enjoyed it, it still had some major flaws I can’t ignore.

For one, a third of the story is about the main characters, Sam and Tate meeting when they were 21 and 18 respectively. Now I’m OK with exploring the characters’ past but since the book was quite short altogether it didn’t leave much page-time for the present.

Tate and Sam have a whirlwind romance in London but Sam’s betrayal, outing Tate’s family connection to a famous Hollywood actor to the press, haunts her years later when she meets him again on set of her next movie. Tate, now an actress, is still angry and confused at the same time because of the feelings Sam still awakes in her.

And this is where this one fell flat for me – there is little character development. They remain as flat as they were when Sam and Tate first met. I liked them alright but I liked them the way I’d like a friendly neighbor. There wasn’t a lot of meat to them and we had barely any background about them. I had no idea how Sam became a screenwriter.

The whole story felt a bit like a checklist. It was predictable and there were no real surprises even when there were “twists” I’d had them figured out early on. There is also this “being told instead of being shown” aspect that makes it hard to connect with the characters, which circles back to my previous statement that the characters were one-dimensional. Tate’s need for her dad’s approval was a little annoying – it was like she lost her backbone where he was concerned.

This book wasn’t CLo’s best work – I know they can do better so I’m looking forward to picking up their next work!

About Christina Lauren

Yes, there are two of us! Lauren (on the left) and Christina (on the right).

Christina Lauren is the combined pen name of long-time writing partners and best friends Christina Hobbs and Lauren Billings. The #1 international bestselling coauthor duo writes both Young Adult and Adult Fiction, and together has produced fourteen New York Times bestselling novels. They are published in over 30 languages, have received starred reviews from Kirkus ReviewsLibrary Journal and Publishers Weekly, won both the Seal of Excellence and Book of the Year from RT Magazine, named Amazon and Audible Romance of the Year, a Lambda Literary Award finalist and been nominated for several Goodreads Choice Awards. They have been featured in publications such as ForbesThe Washington PostTimeEntertainment Weekly, People, O Magazine and more. Their third YA novel, Autoboyography was released in 2017 to critical acclaim, followed by  Roomies, Love and Other Words, Josh and Hazel’s Guide to Not Dating, and the Publisher’s Weekly starred My Favorite Half-Night Stand, out in December.

Lauren Billings (but everyone calls her Lo) has a Ph.D. in neuroscience and before she made writing her full-time job, would spend her days doing nerdy research-type things wearing a lab coat and goggles. She is silly Mommy to two littles, wife to one mountain biking homebrewing scientist, and an unabashed lover of YA and romance.

Christina Hobbs (but you’ll always hear Lo call her PQ) used to spend her days in a junior high counseling office surrounded by teenagers. These days you can find her at her desk, writing or watching BTS videos. She grew up in Utah and is absolutely not old enough to be the mom of a 17 year old (right??), thinks she’s the luckiest person in the world to write books with her best friend, and is an unapologetic lover of boy bands and glitter.

You can follow their shenanigans at:

@lolashoes (Lauren) & @seeCwrite (Christina) on Twitter. On Tumblr! where we post kissing gifs and writerly stuff and Wattpad for short stories and sneak peeks!

CONNECT WITH CLo
Facebook ✭ Twitter ✭ Instagram ✭ Wattpad ✭ Goodreads

three-stars

You may also like

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: