5 STARS ✮ J.B. SALSBURY ✮ WRECKED

5 STARS ✮ J.B. SALSBURY ✮ WRECKEDWrecked Published by Headline Publishing Group on July 11th 2017
Pages: 352
Goodreads

Wrecked is the new standalone novel of deliciously dark, deeply emotional contemporary romance from J. B. Salsbury, the New York Times bestselling author of Split and The Fighting Series, perfect for fans of Katy Evans, Jamie McGuire and Sophie Jackson.

When you can't trust yourself, how can you ask anyone else to?

It's been months since Aden Colt left the Army, and still the memories haunt him. When he moved into a tiny boat off the California coast, he thought he'd found the perfect place to escape life. Then Sawyer shows up and turns his simple life upside down.

Beautiful and sophisticated, she seems out of place in this laid-back beach town. Something is pushing her to experience everything she can - including Aden. But as much as he wants her, starting a relationship with Sawyer puts them both at risk. For Aden, the past doesn't stay there; it shows up unexpectedly, uncontrollably, and doesn't care whose life it wrecks.

He's not like other guys... Don't miss J. B. Salsbury's unique and explosive romance, Split, out now.

WRECKED

by

J.B. Salsbury

 

✮✮✮ 5 STARS ✮✮✮
 

 

While Celia has always been fearless her twin sister Sawyer has a significant penchant to be cautious. She is the one who makes to-do lists and never takes risks and definitely doesn’t leave things up to chance.

Her sister wants nothing more than for Sawyer to let loose and live instead of locking herself up – and Celia knows what she is talking about. A tumor is wrecking her brain and she doesn’t have much time left. Celia asks Sawyer to pack up her apartment in San Diego and tie up loose ends pretending she is Celia.
The life Aden has chosen for himself after he left special forces three months ago is perfect. It’s quiet, solitary, and he can escape when his past becomes overwhelming and the deaths of his brothers in arms make his chest tight. Today he lives on a boat and manages his uncles property in San Diego.
When his uncle’s favorite tenant walks up to him to get the key for her cottage he can’t quite see  the girl in his uncle’s photos. This version of Celia is uptight, reserved and he finds it highly entertaining to be the cause for her to get her panties in a twist.

I’m sorry, I don’t know your name.”
“Aden.”
He looks up at me with those arresting chocolate-brown eyes. “Most people call me Colt.”
“Colt, like… a baby horse?”
He goes back to searching the drawer. “Yeah, or Colt like my last name.”
“Oh.”

Aden is a soldier, it is ingrained in his DNA to serve his country. This fateful night, when he trusted the enemy and was betrayed and ambushed, he lost most of his brothers-in-arms. He was honorably discharged and tried to find his footing in the world outside the army. Not so easy with an untreated PTSD. He looks for solitude, he doesn’t like gatherings of people, and drinks way too much. Women help Aden to forget for a night but when the going get really tough he goes out on his boat to be alone.

“Please, let me touch you.” I give another tug of my hands only to have him clasp them tighter.
“I don’t deserve your comfort.”
His hips jack forward.
“I don’t deserve your hands on me.”

Despite his crippling nightmares and the guilt he is carrying he isn’t a depressing character. Aden is such a smartass with an amazing sarcastic sense of humor who made me laugh a lot throughout the story. He is the sort of hero who is always in charge…until a slip of a woman shows him the light. I completely fell for Aden (dips!) and he broke my heart when he felt so unworthy of love. He was pretty intense at times, complicated and bossy and not at all in control of his life. Unsurprisingly, he was also a straight shooter.

“I’m not the type of man who begs.” He hisses through his teeth when I grip him tighter. “But I’m begging, please, let me fuck you.”

Sawyer is facing tragedy and she knows it. She wants to fulfill her sister’s dying wish not realizing what a gift Celia is giving her. In the beginning you see this uptight a little reserved woman with some funny quirks, who, when she does as her sister asks, becomes increasingly relaxed. I loved her growth. How she became the perfect mix of Celia and Sawyer. She still had her inherent personality but when she loosened up she became happier, less fearful and that was thanks to Aden who challenged her and made her face her fears.

When I read the blurb I thought I’d be in for a delicious angst fest. What I got was so much more lighthearted, but not less delicious. In the last 25-30% J.B. Salsbury cranks up the angst and I ended up clutching my chest because it became a bit tight.
I appreciated that there wasn’t any unnecessary drama. I also loved Sawyer’s and Aden’s connection – it was attraction, sexiness, adoration, friendship and respect wrapped up in a sweet package.
This story is in parts full of raw emotion, and humor and sweetness in others. At no point I felt overwhelmed or depressed, it is perfectly balanced to make this story immensely enjoyable.

It’s the way he makes me feel like I’m the only woman in the world. He responds to every word I say, every sound that slips unabashed from my lips, as if I’m giving him a secret he’s been desperate to discover. When we’re together it’s as if I’m the air and he’s begging for his next breath.

Miss Salsbury totally took me by surprise with this book. Sawyer’s and Aden’s journey is wonderful and reminds me of things that are important – forgive yourself, face your fears and get over your hangups and start living. And always TRY. I loved being part of their adventure.
J.B. Salsbury really impressed me again with her flawless writing. Can you see how much I loved this book? Yeah…I loved this book hard!

 

“I’m fucking wrecked without you.”

 

 


Follow Vanilla & Spice Books

  

 

You may also like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: